The 3rd Dimension – So little to say and so much time!!!


Early college was weird; dreams weirder
August 13, 2009, 7:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Every time I have a dream about college and I wake up I play “use somebody” by kings of leon in my head as the perfect wrap up song to my dream sitcom. I don’t know why I just thought about it now since my college dreams have only come up two or three times a year a year or two ago but I found it interesting how when I think about early college I get grossed out while I go into fantasy mode when I think about “ideal party” college.

It’s probably been about 4 years since I’ve left college and when I think about early college like the first few months to first 2 years I’ve always found that point somewhat awkward. You are basically still – a child – going off to start your life with a bunch of strangers (if you lived away from home). You probably had every mono colored thing from Target like the soap holder and all kinds of “MADE FOR COLLEGE” gear by whatever generic American X company. In a way it felt like an almost inorganic unnatural cattle herded kind of existence where you just start all over again with all sorts of cheap 1 year sleepover party gear. I loved college but the only thign that grosses me out was the equipment. The generic college towel racks and pillows and toothbrush holders and desk accessories etc etc… As a male I never was really into form more function, substance over style, but any male knows that at a certain point man (and women) are manifest fragments of the source god and god is art since art is the ultimate expression of god’s creativity and spontanaiety so therefore man needs art. Thus man is not satisfied with matching light blue and light red polyester forms and entities on their desk. Man wants wood and stone and organics that remind them of the beauty of nature and are in harmony with the world. Living in a plastic reality just doesn’t suffice. I think the weird early gear alone made college weird. An example illustration below…

I’ve been roaming around always lookin down at all I see.
Painted faces fill the places I can’t reach.
You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody
Someone like you
And all you know and how you speak
Countless lovers undercover of the street
You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody
Someone like you

The tune of the song is great for the ideal college dream. That for some reason –  as absurd as my dreams are – don’t give me that weird feeling like early college does. A wise man once came up to me and asked me, “what is college?”. OK he didn’t really come up to me but my answer is the same regardless, “a place where you find a new chick you want to screw; around every corner; every 5 minutes – on the dot!”.  In my dreams there is always a beach party, I live at the near top floor of a huge resort hotel with a big jade dark green room (not sure why one of my college dreams generated that look), where I go on the grassy hills and look over in the distance and see another random woman I never met before that I want to screw, where on my way to buying college books I see Perry Farrell from Jane’s Addiction in a niche inside a wall on an urban street – shirtless;playing a drumset – and he tells me something in a really high pitched voice which I don’t remember, where I go into the WalMart and it’s filled with college students and more people I want to screw, and where every time I wake up from this dream the tune for “use somebody” starts playing in my head to wrap up the experience perfectly.

Off in the night while you live it up I’m off to sleep
Waging wars to shake the poet and the beat
I hope it’s gonna make you notice
I hope it’s gonna make you notice
Someone like me
Someone like me
Someone like me
Somebody


Back when I was in college I settled on my major fairly late and even before then I knew I always wanted to go into computing somewhat so I was always in class and lab mostly for every year after the first. This didn’t leave much time for self development at all and I was always playing games on my computer to relieve the stress and pressure from the day. In that sense I don’t think I’ve really resolved the college experience the way I would have wanted to – the one where I “play” with about half the city’s females before I pack up and breath deeply saying to myself, “Ahhh I’ve done what I wanted to accomplish here…” and leave forevermore. I kind of came in as an awkward child and kind of left as an awkward child with not much to show for it besides a degree that says I survived a 4 year obstacle course.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

